Global / Online Events ~ Santa Cruz, CA Events ~ Recent Events ~ Planning Novasutras Celebrations ~ Calendar

Want to help us keep putting on events? Please support Novasutras by donating with your registration, provide ongoing support via Patreon, or volunteer as a Novasutras Uplifter.

Global / Online Events

Novasutras Daily Discussions in Difficult Times
Online gathering spaces for connection and meaningful conversation in challenging times. Join as many Daily Discussions as you like.

W Apr 8, 01:00 PM PDT / 20:00 UTC
Th Apr 9, 10:30 AM PDT / 17:30 UTC
F Apr 10, 05:30 PM PDT / Sa Apr 11 00:30 UTC
Sa Apr 11, 10:00 AM PDT / 17:00 UTC
Su Apr 12, 03:00 PM PDT / 22:00 UTC
M Apr 13, 05:30 PM PDT / Tu Apr 14 00:30 UTC
Tu Apr 14, 01:00 PM PDT / 20:00 UTC

We may be adding more sessions soon.

By participant consent, some portions of previous sessions were recorded and shared on this YouTube playlist.

Full Moon Novasutras Guided Meditation
April 7th 7:00pm PDT / April 8th 02:00 UTC
A 30-minute session with a guided meditation for well-being on Earth, celebrating the beauty of the full moon.

Can’t afford to donate anything right now? Register for Full Moon Meditation without Donation

Earth Week Beginning Online Gathering
April 18th 11:00am PDT / 18:00 UTC
We’ll reflect on the meaning of Earth Day to each of us, both in discussion and in a guided meditation. 

MAY CROSS-QUARTER: We will gather on Zoom at 00:30 UTC May 5th / 5:30pm Pacific May 4th for a 60-minute conversation with guided meditation through the moment of the Cross-Quarter 5 May 00:49 UTC (May 4, 5:49pm Pacific).

Can’t afford to donate anything right now? Register for May Cross-Quarter without Donation

Weekly Climate Action Meditations: Carol proposes that each of us (on our own, but simultaneously) could meditate on a visualization of “our glorious planet with a clean, healthy atmosphere & ecosystems” for a half-hour at 20:00 UTC / noon PST each Sunday. Learn more…

Imagine our power as we meditate together for global ubuntu and agaya!

Sign up for the Novasutras newsletter for updates eight times per year.


Santa Cruz, California Events

Climate and Habitat meditation
Sunday March 22nd 1:30-2:15pm POSTPONED UNTIL SITUATION CHANGES

Out of an abundance of caution, we will postpone this gathering. Hopefully these can resume with renewed gusto in a few weeks.

Our plan has been to test locations and times for weekly gatherings in Santa Cruz this month. Contact us or take this survey to share your thoughts and suggestions for future gatherings.

March Shinrin-Yoku

POSTPONED UNTIL SITUATION CHANGES

Out of an abundance of caution, we will postpone this gathering. Hopefully these can resume with renewed gusto next month.

Planning ahead for April? Take this poll to let us know which times you might be able to participate in Shinrin-Yoku (and if you have any suggestions for alternative locations). We will select one of the times and let people know by April 9th.

Please join us at 2:00 on Thursday, March 26th for this gentle walk or sit at Henry Cowell Redwoods. Learn about and experience the benefits of forest immersion practice. RSVP so we know to expect you, and so we can arrange carpools.

See the Santa Cruz area chapter page for details.


Recent Events

  • March 31st Daily Discussion – Participants in the Novasutras Daily Discussion on March 31, 2020 requested that we record this portion, to share ideas about the problems of the current economic system, creating a fair and decentralized Green New Deal that can reduce poverty and GHG emissions, and seeking solutions to change our relationship to consuming so we are “meeting the needs of all, by healing — not harming –planet and people.” — https://youtu.be/Ky2GjduXYSEJoin our upcoming Daily Discussions.
  • MARCH 2020 EQUINOX: We gathered on Zoom at 03:00 UTC March 20th / 8:00pm Pacific March 19th for a 90-minute conversation with guided meditation through the moment of the Equinox, which is 20 March 03:50 UTC (March 19th, 8:50pm Pacific).
  • CROSS-QUARTER: We gathered online for our Octal Meditation about 12 hours before actual moment of the Cross-Quarter, 4 Feb 08:55 UTC (12:55am Pacific). This meditation for global well-being and loving-kindness, agaya and ubuntu, followed by conversation was recorded was recorded Monday Feb 3rd, 20:30 UTC / 12:30 pm PST.
Includes news and explanations, then Calling the Corners at 9:24, our guided Octal Meditation at 13:45, and conversation beginning at 33:30.
  • Meditation for the Amazon: Novasutras offered a worldwide, synchronous guided meditation focusing on healing and wellness for the Amazon rainforest and all who live there. We chose to meditate together on #BuyNothingDay, in support of the #Amazon4Amazon campaign. Sign up FREE to be part of the Novasutras Movement, and we’ll send you a link to the video of this guided meditation.

Past Events


Ideas for planning celebrations:

Celestial events are an excellent opportunity for synchronous global meditations, and other celebrations. We particularly encourage participation in the Octal Meditations. Online Octal Meditations are usually scheduled to coincide with the timing of the celestial event (starting at least 15 minutes before it and ending after it). Learn more…

Calendar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.